newer-older-profile-gbook-notes- e-mail-dland

depravation.
05.15.02 at 8:12 pm

0 comments so far

i am not a shouter of women's liberation either. but i am also not very feminine. maybe i'm inherently a shouter of women's liberation as the result of my depravation as non feminine. of course, only i am allowed to label it is depraved, and to possibly take pride in my depravity. but, still, how far have "we" really gone if the following exerpt is still prevalent ideology?

��I wasn�t mature when I got married, but now that I�ve developed my own character and feel ready, Japanese men won�t accept me�I am not a shouter of women�s liberation. Look at me, I am very feminine. But men are afraid.��

read the whole article

5.16.02 9.45am

wait, okay, i got it. she is saying, "look at me, i am not a lesbian. yet men are still afraid." she's feeding back into the system. "i wasn't mature when i got married, but now that i've developed my own character and feel ready to be with a man, they reject me." as if it's her fault.

o, yes, i was thinking, and spoke with emily, what happens to girls around the onset of puberty that deprives them of any semblance of self esteem? for some girls, it is as if every single action, movement, is painfully conscious. daringly deliberate. it, we decided, was a relatively new phenomenon. prior to this century there was less of an emphasis on sex. by the time girls were going through puberty, they were thinking of marriage. o, wait, i talked about this in a class once. there's such a time distance between the onset of puberty and marriage nowadays that, of course, there is sex before marriage. heaven forbid. rather than emphasize marriage, however, perhaps we should just emphasize safety and education.

this is entirely too early for me.

left ' right